Before you walk down the aisle in the Buckeye State, check out Zola’s guide to marriage licenses in Ohio.
In months or even days, you’ll be making your way down the aisle towards the next wonderful chapter in your life. First of all, congratulations! You’ve probably begun browsing buttercream and bouquets. Your engagement is an exciting time in your life.
There is, however, an often forgotten aspect of the wedding planning process: obtaining a marriage license. You know you have to do it, but you might not know how to do it. That’s why we’ve compiled this complete guide to how to get a marriage license in Ohio. Learn about all the need-to-know Ohio marriage laws and everything else you need to add to your courthouse wedding checklist to make your big day special.
Let’s break down how to get a marriage license in Ohio, step-by-step. The first thing to know is that both individuals in a couple must be present to receive their marriage license. What else?
A marriage license serves as your application to get married. It is a legal document that you need to obtain before marriage. When the license is signed and returned, the county will issue a marriage certificate, which serves as legal proof of marriage.
Ohio has 88 counties, and each of these counties has a probate court. These 88 probate courts are the only state agencies authorized to issue a marriage license. Ohio residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county in which either applicant resides, but they can get married anywhere in Ohio. Out-of-state residents must obtain their license in the county where their ceremony will take place.
You will need several forms of documentation to apply for your marriage license. Here’s what you definitely, might, and won’t need:
You definitely need:
A valid photo ID, such as a driver’s license, state ID, or visa
Social Security numbers (but not social security cards usually)
You might need:
An affidavit from your physician stating your physical disability if you are physically incapacitated
Proof of residence in the form of a utility bill, lease, pay stub, car registration, etc. if your ID does not have your current Ohio address
A copy of a divorce decree or death certificate if you were previously married
You won’t need:
The fee for an Ohio marriage license differs between various counties. Here are the fees for several counties:
Montgomery County: $75
Miami County: $50
Stark County: $42
Lucas County: $60
Cuyahoga County: $60
Hamilton County: $75
Franklin County: $65.
Basically, budget between $40 and $80 for your marriage license fee. Is that all? Not quite. Some counties, including Miami County, Stark County, and Lucas County only accept cash. Other counties, such as Franklin county, only accept credit cards. Other counties accept a wider range of payments, including cash, money orders, cashier’s checks, and credit and debit cards. Generally, there is an additional two to three percent service fee for credit cards.
So what’s a couple to do? You can check your county’s website to confirm their fee and payment options or just bring both cash and card so all your bases are covered. You should also know that the marriage license fee is nonrefundable.
Some states require premarital blood tests to check for venereal diseases. These tests also sometimes check for serious genetic disorders. In the past, couples might not be able to get married depending on the results or would just have to disclose their results to each other. Ohio, however, doesn’t require blood tests.
Most counties will allow you to start your marriage license application online by pre-registering. You’ll provide necessary personal information and receive a confirmation to bring to your in-person appointment. Applying online first will save you a lot of time.
According to Miami County in Ohio, if you apply online before, you should expect to wait 20 minutes at the court to receive your marriage license. If you apply in person only, you should expect to wait up to 60 minutes.
Ohio probate courts are generally open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Some courts might open 30 minutes later or close earlier on Fridays, so confirm the hours online for your respective county.
Some counties, such as Lucas County, give marriage licenses on a first-come, first-served basis. Other counties like Miami County require an appointment, which can be made online.
After you complete your appointment, you will receive several documents:
The two forms for the officiant are the most important. You will give the officiant these forms before the ceremony. The first form confirms you’ve received your marriage license. The second form is for the officiant to fill out to confirm they performed the wedding ceremony. The second form is the one that will be eventually returned. The court will provide a pre-addressed envelope to return the license in.
In the past, Ohio enforced a five-day waiting period between issuing the marriage license and when the couple could officially get married, but as of 2021, there is no longer a waiting period.
Yes, your Ohio marriage license will expire after 60 days. If you don’t get married within 60 days of receiving it, you’ll need to restart the process and get a new license.
After the ceremony, the officiant will need to return the marriage license to the court by mail within 30 days of performing the ceremony to verify the marriage was legally performed. Not returning a marriage license is a misdemeanor punishable by a $50 fine for officiants.
Once the license is filed, you’re legally married in the eyes of the state of Ohio. Congratulations! You will receive a certified copy of the license by mail. You can also request additional copies.
As part of the marriage license application process, both individuals will affirm that all the information they provided is true, correct, and complete. If the license is issued based on any false information, the probate court can declare the license void.
When it comes to a marriage license, it’s all about the timing. In case your head is spinning with information overload, here is a brief breakdown of the timing to get and file your marriage license in Ohio.
Your wedding is four months away! Now is the perfect time to make sure you have all of the documents you will need to complete your marriage application. It’s also a good time to start perfecting your save the dates or custom wedding invitations with Zola.
Since an Ohio marriage license is valid for 60 days, you should obtain it about two months before the ceremony. Since there is no waiting period, you can even get your marriage license the day before or the day of your wedding, but we don’t recommend it.
Give yourself a little buffer room within that 60-day window just in case you’re missing a document or it’s difficult to get an appointment.
Before you sail away into your life as a newlywed, make sure that your officiant returns the signed marriage license within 30 days of the ceremony. Ask them to turn it in as soon as possible after the ceremony to avoid any issues.
Since every state has different marriage laws and these laws are constantly changing, it’s important to get a refresher, even if you’re confident in your nuptial knowledge.
As of 2019, the legal age of marriage in Ohio is 18 years old. Before then, girls could marry at the age of 16, and men could marry at the age of 18. Teenagers even younger could marry with judicial and parental consent.
Now, there is only one exception to the minimum age of marriage. Seventeen-year-olds can marry if they meet the following requirements:
Like most states, there are several groups of people who cannot legally be married in Ohio. These categories include:
Ohio will not issue a marriage license if either applicant is under the influence of alcohol or narcotics when they appear to obtain the license.
Ohio will not issue a marriage license if either applicant is infected with syphilis that is currently communicable or will be so in the future.
Ohio will not issue a marriage license if the couple are nearer of kin than second cousins.
Ohio will not issue a marriage license if either individual is still legally in a previous marriage.
The following persons or groups can officiate a marriage in Ohio:
An ordained or licensed minister of any religious society or congregation within Ohio who is licensed to solemnize marriages
A judge of a county court in accordance with section 1907.18 of the Revised Code
A judge of a municipal court in accordance with section 1901.14 of the Revised Code
A probate judge in accordance with section 2101.27 of the Revised Code
The Mayor of a municipal corporation in any county in which the municipal corporation wholly or partly lies
The superintendent of the state school for the deaf
Any religious society in accordance with the rules of its church
Ministers can become licensed through the secretary of state by presenting their credentials from their religious society or congregation. It’s important that your officiant is legally authorized. Performing a marriage without a license or authorization is a crime in Ohio.
You can access a list of authorized civil officiants through your county.
A common-law marriage is a union in which a couple has lived together for a certain period of time and considers themselves married without going through the process of a ceremony or obtaining a marriage license.
Ohio stopped recognizing common-law marriage in 1991. Couples can no longer enter into common-law marriage, except under two conditions:
If the common-law marriage was validly entered into before October 1991 or
If the common-law marriage was validly entered into in another state that allows such unions
A proxy marriage is a way to legally become married if either or both individuals aren’t present. These marriages are available if an individual is in the military, out of state, or incarcerated in certain states. Ohio does not allow proxy marriages.
A domestic partnership is another type of legally recognized union for couples who live together but are not married. Domestic partnerships were common before the nationwide legalization of same-sex marriage. Ohio has no state laws regarding domestic partnerships, but certain cities allow couples to register their domestic partnership.
We know the world of marriage licenses and laws can be confusing. Hopefully, these FAQs will answer anything and everything you want (or need) to know.
No, Ohio does not require witnesses for the marriage ceremony.
Yes, both applicants will need to be present to receive their marriage license. If one of the applicants is sick or disabled, they can apply using an affidavit signed by a practicing physician within the same county where the court is located.
Ohio residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county where either or both applicants live. Non-residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county where their wedding will take place.
If your previous marriage ended in either a divorce or annulment, you must provide:
If your spouse is deceased, you are not required to provide a copy of the death certificate in some counties. Other counties do require a copy of the death certificate, so confirm with your county.
The Ohio Bureau of Vital Statistics does not keep marriage and divorce records. You should request a copy of your divorce decree from the county clerk in the county where your divorce was finalized.
Certified copies of death certificates are available through the Ohio Bureau of Vital Statistics. The cost is $21.50, and these copies are available in person, online, or by mail.
You can obtain copies of your marriage certificate through the county where you filed your marriage license.
Ohio will not replace a lost or damaged marriage license, so you will need to restart the application process.
If you require an interpreter because you are hearing impaired, contact your county’s probate court.
If either applicant does not speak English, they will need to bring a translator to acquire their marriage license. This translator must be:
If any of your documents are in a foreign language, you will be required to provide a translation on the business letterhead of a professional translator in addition to the original foreign document.
You are not required to change your name. Either spouse can:
You should visit your county probate court in person to change your name. You will need to provide a photo ID and pay a filing fee. You will fill out a petition and then publish your name change in a local newspaper at least 30 days before your hearing.
At your hearing, the judge will ask a few questions to determine if they will accept your request. If your petition is accepted, you’ll receive a court order that you can use to notify other government agencies like the DMV or Social Security office.
The marriage license application might require that you provide your intended wedding date. If you don’t have an exact date, just provide an approximate date within the 60-day validity window. However, it’s always helpful to book your venue before you apply for your license (Hint: Zola’s wedding venue database offers pre-screened venues in your area so you can find your dream place that’s within your budget).
No, you don’t have to be a citizen to get married in Ohio. However, you will need to provide your foreign passport and American visa.
No, there are no discounts, waivers, or installment plans for the marriage license fee. You must pay in full immediately.
No, you cannot get a refund for your marriage license, even if it is expired or unused.
Now that you’ve figured out how to get a marriage license, it’s time to return to the fun part of wedding planning. Have you booked your wedding vendors yet?
Zola makes the process stress-free. Find trustworthy, pre-screened vendors in our easy-to-use online inventory of vendors. Need a venue? We got you. A florist? We got you. A makeup artist? We got you.
Applying for a marriage license may be confusing and even a little boring, but planning your wedding is sure to be a joy with a little help from Zola.
Q & A
Outdoor weddings are beautiful and super common. They also come with their challenges. Take on any issue with our rundown of common outdoor wedding problems and how to fix them all.
Finding the perfect wedding venue can be a challenge. We outlined a few popular types of wedding venues to help you find one that's right for you.
For couples in search of a unique setting for their nuptials, caves can be the perfect venue. Read our guide to learn how to pull a cave wedding.
Your wedding centerpieces don't have to feature dramatic florals in order to be beautiful. Save money and get creative with these 29 unique centerpiece ideas for your wedding reception.
Wedding decoration costs can include everything from flowers, to string lights and tablecloths. Read on to find out the average cost of wedding decorations.
Q & A
In this wedding style guide, find out why thinking about your wedding style early on will help you in your planning, and how to use Zola Inspiration to discover your own personal wedding vision.
Q & A
The country is one of the most romantic places to pop the big question to your significant other. Read on for our best country proposal ideas.
Not quite sure who should be paying for the bridesmaid's dresses at your wedding? Read our guide to our expert advice.
We’ve got wedding planning advice on everything from save the dates to wedding cakes.